Zoning Board of Appeals

About the Board

The Zoning Board of Appeals is provided for by City ordinances. The Board reviews and determines requests for variances, conditional uses, and interpretations of the Zoning Code.


The Board consists of five members who are appointed by Council to five-year terms, at least one of whom shall be a member of the City Planning Commission. Current members include:

  • Petra Sloan
  • Jim Fortkamp
  • Mary Ellen Paulus
  • James Lehmkuhl
  • Ken Jensen - Planning Commission Member

The City Council liaison to the Zoning Board of Appeals is Steve Wagner.


  • 4:00 p.m.
  • 3rd Monday of every month (if a request is filed)
  • Council Chambers

The Board generally reaches a decision for each case during the meeting but may choose to table any item in order to clarify findings or request further information.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Application Forms & Information

Application forms and information about the processes can be downloaded at the Forms and Permit Applications page. If you have questions, please call the Community Development Department.